Saturday, July 23, 2016

Four uncapped players in Sri Lanka squad for first Australia Test

The Sri Lankan selectors rung in a number of changes and included four uncapped players in the 15-member squad for the first Test against Australia on Thursday (July 21).
Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, the pacers, and Roshen Silva, the batsman, are the uncapped players who have been included in the squad. All four were part of the Sri Lanka A squad playing in the tri-series against England Lions and Pakistan A.

How to Play Cricket? How to Play Cricket?
Milinda Siriwardana has been left out of the squad despite leading a Sri Lankan XI side against Australia in the practice game in Colombo. Dhananjaya de Silva, the allrounder, has been called up as well. De Silva made his One-Day International debut against Ireland last month.
Dilruwan Perera, who last played a Test for Sri Lanka in October last year against West Indies, has also earned a recall. The allrounder has scored two half-centuries and one century in addition to his 17 wickets in his last four first-class games.
Sri Lanka are scheduled to play three Tests in Pallekele, Galle and Colombo starting from July 26. Angelo Mathews will lead the side while Dinesh Chandimal, as expected, has been named his deputy.

Squad: Angelo Mathews (capt), Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunarathna, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshane Silva, Nuwan Pradeep,Vishva Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal.

No comments:

Post a Comment